Aggravated Battery Attorneys in Chicago, Illinois
Aggravated Battery Cases in Illinois: What Is Aggravated Battery?
In Illinois, aggravated battery is a felony charge related to battery. Battery, also known as malicious wounding, is when you knowingly or intentionally cause another person bodily harm with the use of force or violence. When that force is serious or malicious in nature and results in the victim being hospitalized for more than 24 hours or having a permanent disability or disfigurement as a result of the attack, it becomes an aggravated battery. If convicted of aggravated battery charges in Illinois, you could face time in prison and fines up to $25,000. If you are facing aggravated battery charges, contact an attorney right away to protect your rights and future. This blog post will explain more about aggravated battery charges in Illinois so read on to learn more.
Understanding Aggravated Battery Charges
Aggravated battery charges are usually filed as felony charges when the defendant intended to cause serious bodily injury to the victim. In Illinois, most aggravated battery charges are related to a stabbing or wound with a deadly weapon when the victim received a permanent disfigurement or disability from the attack. There are two levels of aggravated battery charges in Illinois. The first is aggravated battery with a deadly weapon. This charge occurs when the defendant used a deadly weapon, such as a knife, to cause injury. The second level of aggravated battery is when the defendant caused the victim to suffer from a permanent disability or disfigurement. This charge is applicable even if the defendant did not use a deadly weapon.
What is the Difference Between Battery and Aggravated Battery?
The main difference between battery and aggravated battery is the severity of the attack and the injuries the victim suffered. Battery is when a person knowingly and intentionally makes physical contact with another person. Battery is a less serious charge than an aggravated battery and does not result in any serious bodily injuries or hospitalization. When the force used during the battery is malicious and results in serious bodily injuries, the charge becomes an aggravated battery. The two charges are often confused with one another, but there are major differences between the two.
Penalties for Aggravated Battery in Illinois
– Aggravated Battery with a Deadly Weapon: A person convicted of aggravated battery with a deadly weapon in Illinois faces two to five years in prison, a $25,000 fine, or both. If the victim is a law enforcement officer, corrections officer, or fireman, the defendant could face up to seven years in prison. – Aggravated Battery Causing Great Bodily Injury: A person convicted of aggravated battery causing great bodily harm in Illinois faces two to five years in prison, a $25,000 fine, or both. If the victim is a law enforcement officer, corrections officer, or fireman, the defendant could face up to seven years in prison. – Aggravated Battery Causing Great Bodily Harm or Permanent Disability: A person convicted of aggravated battery causing great bodily harm or permanent disability in Illinois faces three to seven years in prison, a $25,000 fine, or both. If the victim is a law enforcement officer, corrections officer, or fireman, the defendant could face up to 10 years in prison.
Defenses Attorneys for Aggravated Battery Charges in Illinois
If you are facing aggravated battery charges in Chicago Illinois, you should contact a criminal defense lawyer to learn more about the charges against you and how the defense can help. A few common defenses used in battery charges include No intent to cause harm, self-defense, false accusations, and lack of injury. If you did not intend to cause bodily harm or if you were defending yourself, you did not commit the crime. If you used force to defend yourself against someone who attacked you, the charge may not apply to you. In Illinois, it is legal to use self-defense as a defense if you reasonably believe that you need to defend yourself or another person from bodily harm or death. You must have a reasonable belief that force is necessary to prevent the attack. False accusations are a common defense in aggravated battery charges. If the accuser is lying or mistakenly identified the defendant, the charges may be dropped. Most of the time, the police do not conduct a thorough investigation before arresting a person for aggravated battery. It is common for police to arrest the person they believe committed the crime even if there is not enough evidence to prove it. Another defense is lack of injury. Even if the defendant intended to cause harm, there must be some type of injury or damage. If the defendant used a weapon but did not cause any injury, it was not a valid or valid attack.
Defenses Lawyers for Aggravated Battery in Chicago
If you are facing aggravated battery charges in Illinois, you should contact an attorney right away. A criminal defense attorney can help you navigate the criminal justice system and explore all the possible defenses to aggravated battery charges. There are several defenses that may apply to your case, depending on the unique circumstances surrounding your arrest. If there is evidence of police misconduct or if the prosecution cannot prove its case beyond a reasonable doubt, the charges may be reduced or dismissed. If you are a victim of false accusations, your attorney can investigate the case and speak with the alleged victim. The attorney can also review the police report to identify any potential issues with the investigation. If the case goes to trial, the attorney can cross-examine any witnesses who testified against you.
Frequently Asked Questions About Aggravated Battery Charges
What happens if I’m convicted of aggravated battery charges in Illinois? If you are convicted of aggravated battery charges in Illinois, you could face up to seven years in prison. Do I have to go to jail if I’m convicted of aggravated battery charges? It depends on the level of charges against you. If you are convicted of aggravated battery charges where the victim was hospitalized due to the attack, you could face up to seven years in prison. What happens if I am on probation when I am charged with aggravated battery? If you are on probation when you are charged with aggravated battery charges, you could be charged with a probation violation and sent back to jail. Do I have to pay fines if I am convicted of aggravated battery charges? If you are convicted of aggravated battery charges, you could face up to $25,000 in fines.
Aggravated battery charges are very serious. If convicted of aggravated battery, you could spend years in prison and incur thousands of dollars in fines. It is important to understand the charges against you and know your options for defense. You can protect your future by contacting an experienced attorney as soon as possible.